Archive

Archive for July 7, 2010

Many peas in our pods


Yesterday was the first time I noticed we had peas growing in our garden.  Not the vines, but the actual vegetable (or fruit, if you wish).  I thought there was only one.  I urged 🙂  my family to come out and see the “1” I found.  To my surprise, I found there were more.  I have a LOT of pea plants planted.  So this is just the beginning.  I planted a few varieties including the sugar snap and the original peas.  I love harvesting the fruits of my labor.  What a joyous reward the Lord gives.  The learning experience has been a great one too.  I encourage you all to try it, even if you just start with a container garden on a deck or patio.  It can work!

Our first fruits…


My little Lexi had the honor of tasting our first ripe raspberry June 29th.  Kira had the first blackberry from our first blackberry bush.   We are excited to have fruit growing in our own backyard.  I may be more so, and I try to encourage the rest of my family in my excitement too.  Why did i wait so long??!!   I just had this fear that I couldn’t do it, any of it.  I didn’t want to put the time into learning to grow anything in the past b/c I just thought I couldn’t do it, wouldn’t be able to keep up with it.  It wasn’t so much a lack of available space, but a feeling of defeat.  I’m so thankful to God for the stamina to pursue the desires of my heart, to which I hope and pray are that which He desires for me also.

Along with the berries, I have strawberries growing in containers and doing very well.  There are some berries growing among the patch as well.   If there were one thing I could rave about the summer, it’s the environment for which such a sweet image could prosper.  I will enjoy the harvest season.