Archive

Archive for October 11, 2012

Peanut Butter Pumpkin Cookies – Easy Peasy


So, I had another light bulb go off in my head the other night but just now getting to blog it.  I seem to be on a (little) roll.  I had some leftover pumpkin puree from making pumpkin muffins last Saturday. I saw on pinterest a recipe about making cake or something with pumpkin puree and cake mix, no eggs, no oil. As I was making some PBJ sandwiches, it occurred to me and I wondered if I could make cookies out of just pumpkin puree and peanut butter. Then I thought it would probably need sugar. So I experimented today with that and the verdict: good! I asked my girls to taste test and they approved.  Now, what will my husband’s verdict be?  I think it is pretty rich and moist.

This is what I did:
–  mix equal parts pumpkin and peanut butter and half that in sugar.  That’s it.  No eggs, no oil, no water.  You could put an equal amount of sugar if you want it sweeter.  I may try that next time.  I didn’t want to use that much sugar this time.  I do a lot of “eye-ball” cooking.  So it is with this trial as well.

– Scoop equal mounds onto cookie sheet, however big or small you want them.  Mine were average size.  I used a TBS.  Bake at 350 for 20 mins or 375 for 15 mins.  I tried both because what I made yielded 2 batches  (about 1 cup each  ingredient).  They are very moist and flaky.  Let cool completely.  These are a little fragile so transfer carefully because they will break apart.  I hardly ever cool on baking racks so I found something else to do with them.  I carefully transferred them to a plate.  I flattened the cookies after 5 minutes of baking because they don’t spread like cookies with lots of butter.  You could do it before, also.  Or you could just leave it if you like the chunky look.

I can’t imagine them being too high in bad fats.  These have to be a healthier alternative but I have to factual data to support that.  Nor am I about to figure out how to calculate that for you.  You can trust my intuition, or not.  Oh, and it doesn’t taste like pumpkin.  I’m not a big peanut butter cookie fan or peanut butter anything except maybe Thai peanut noodles.  These taste pretty much just like peanut butter cookies.  I think this may be my new peanut butter cookie recipe for ease and health factors.  I hope you enjoy!!

Let me know if you try this and how it turned out for you, or if you did anything different.  I’d love to hear about it!

BEFORE baking>>>

AFTER baking >>>

There seems to be a cookie missing.

Parenting Tidbit #7; Excuses, Excuses


http://www.doorposts.com/blog/2012/10/04/

Don’t Set a Precedent or Bad Example of Excuses

Parenting Tidbits #6; Building Character in Conflicts


http://www.doorposts.com/blog/2011/05/24/dealing-with-quarrels/

This article is a good snippet in helping your children deal with conflicts.