Home > Marriage, Random Ramblings > My Hubs, A Man of Many Interests

My Hubs, A Man of Many Interests


One of the biggest things that attracted me to my husband was his intellect.  I was intrigued.  I was going through a period of major growing (among many) and learning  in my faith as a Christian.  We had intelligent conversations.  It was very stimulating.  He was a serious sap.  I am always amazed at how much info he swallows in a day.  His ability to consume info from books to articles is amazing.  He keeps up with theology for pastorate, current events and everything else.  He has a passion for sports.  Especially baseball.  The things he is passionate about can be contagious.  I have grown in my interest of reading books partly due to him.  Before him, I don’t think I met anyone who loved books more.  He has an insatiable hunger for knowledge.  Honestly, sometimes that can be annoying.   I only imagine his mind racing a million times faster than mine so sometimes when he’s interrupted in his train of thought, it’s like a crash.  Sometimes not too pretty.

He loves music.  He introduces us to a lot of different artists.   I just don’t keep up with trends anymore.  That may or may not be a good thing.  But he is totally a white boy when it comes to dancing!

He likes to watch and dissect movies and shows and find redemption in the story lines.  Sometimes tries too hard.

He likes to play games.  He has only beat me at chess 2 times of all the timers we’ve played.  I said he lets me win.  He denies it.  His fav board game right now is Wits ‘n Wagers.  I always say it gives him opportunity to gamble without really gambling.  He enjoys video games, too.  We compete in Wii sports’ golf.  He’s pretty sexy when he bowls, in real life, that is.  I very much dislike playing monopoly with him!

His excitement in all the things he loves is contagious because it’s sincere and passionate.  I never was a baseball fan.  I would rather play the sport than watch it on tv.  I was one of those people who thought, ‘how in the world can you just sit and watch such a slow-moving game and actually enjoy it?”  Well, I still don’t jump at baseball but I can appreciate the game much more now because of him.  Because of him, I also enjoy and understand politics a little better but still learning.  I intentionally remain ignorant of some of that stuff to keep sane!

He loves us, his family.  It hasn’t been all peaches and cream.  Actually, many times it’s been a down right battle.  But I know he loves us and that he is continually pursuing a growth, understanding and love for us.  He wants to touch me even when I’m gross.  I can’t say the same!  We aren’t perfect and I’m not always the easiest person to love.  I have high expectations.  We have both grown in God’s grace as He has been faithful to carry us.  We still have a journey ahead.   He’s a man smarter and wiser than his years in many respects.  He has cared for us for the last 11 years and may God be glorified in the years ahead.

Categories: Marriage, Random Ramblings
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

