Home > Homemaking, Life, Random Ramblings, Uncategorized > Dry, Cracked Skin Remedy?

Dry, Cracked Skin Remedy?


IMG_7225

I’m no scientist or dermatologist.  I do not claim to be a knowledgeable person on all things medical.  On this issue, I claim experience helps.  What I’m about to tell you is not FDA approved nor cure any diseases.  Please consult a real physician for your medical needs.  With that disclaimer said: I think I might have discovered something.  I haven’t blogged in a while but I was so excited to wake up this morning to share this little tidbit of info!!

It’s winter.  The snow brightens the ground with its white beauty.  The air is crisp and well, cold.  It’s about 20 degrees right now and it’s supposed to snow tonight, Friday and Saturday, to my anticipation!!  I love snow!  There is much hoar frost outside wonderfully glistening on everything.  My skin is typical lizard skin this time of year.  I also cut my finger a few years ago and hit a nerve and the spot is still numbingly painful.  Well, the blood doesn’t come to that part of my thumb and the skin has been slowly losing its luster.  And my other fingers have slowly been following suit. Lotion doesn’t cut it. Another odd thing about me is I am very OCD and old “skool” and wash all my dishes by hand.  Oh, yes, I do. (And I have 4 kids so don’t even try to say it’s because I have nothing else to do.)  I only use the dishwasher as a drying rack and it holds a ton more than those counter racks.  Anyway, I digress.  So, last night at 2am (you read that right) while I was finishing the last of my dishes, I had an light bulb go off!!  Breakthrough, maybe!!  I had read around a couple years ago about how sea salt was good for your skin; how people have experienced their best skin during visits to the beach.  Possibly because of the salty sea water.  So, last night, I decided to add salt to my HOT dish water.  I mean, my fingers were bad.  So as I washing dishes, the water felt slimier than usual.  I think water softener is made from a form of salt?  We have hard water but I remember some friends having soft water and I didn’t really like to shower in it because the water felt slimy.  Anyway, my hands are soft and only a slight residue from the dryness remains.  I was impressed- I AM impressed!  I don’t know the science behind it but I will be salting my dish water from now on.  Maybe it reveals the lack of salt within ones body?  I know I don’t sweat enough.  I’m not an easy sweat-er, meaning I don’t sweat easily, besides my pits- TMI!  So, that’s it.  It’s the little things in life, people!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

